Encouragement From The Word

Why worry?

Are you a worrier?

One of the strange little things I remember from my childhood is the “worry stone”.  It was a piece of polished white stone that had a concave indentation in it, that, I was told, one could rub one’s thumb in as a means of passing the time while worrying.  (And Protestants complained about prayer beads?!)  I’m sure it was just a gimmick someone created to make money selling to people who easily give in at knick-knack stores, but the fact that people bought these things suggests to me that worry may be a bigger part of life than we care to admit.

It always astounds me when I find people who love and serve Jesus who also worry.  Jesus himself told us that worrying wouldn’t add a single day to our lives, or a single cubit to our height (depending on the translation you read).  He was right.  I’ve never seen anything significant accomplished through worry.

But what do we do instead?  After all, if I tell someone not to worry, what is that person going to do in place of worry?  King David had some good advice:  “I prayed to the Lord, and he answered me.  He freed me from all my fears” (Psalm 34.4, NLT).

We are disinclined to unleash our burdens entirely.  We can give our concerns to the Lord, and then almost immediately take them back…as if God can’t handle them.  Cognitively, we know he can, but practically, we think we need to deal with them on our own.  But when we give our concerns to God, we can leave them in his care, and not worry one bit.

The Canadian hymn writer, Joseph Scriven, had the idea right when he wrote

Have we trials and temptations?  Is there trouble anywhere?

We should never be discouraged: take it to the Lord in prayer.

Can we find a friend so faithful, who will all our sorrows share?

Jesus knows our every weakness: take it to the Lord in prayer.

There is a better way to deal with concerns than to worry.  Give them to the Lord.

Encouragement From The Word will return on July 7.

