India 2013

India 2013: A visit to Mysore

With the weekend to rest, it was suggested to us that we take a road trip to the city of Mysore, to the southwest of Bangalore, to see another part of India. The drive was the most fascinating part of the trip: we left at 0600 on Saturday, in order to minimize the traffic problems. There is a ring road around Bangalore, but if we used it, it sure didn’t last long. It took us an hour and a half, in light traffic, to cross the city. After another half hour, we stopped for breakfast. Our great driver, Viji, went to an Indian place, and we all went to…wait for it…McDonalds! It was surprisingly good, and pretty clean (except for the restroom). The sausage in the sausage mcmuffin was chicken, but it really didn’t taste much different than the ones at home.

We visited a sultan’s summer home and a Hindu temple on the way. I did not go in to the temple, but even standing outside left me with a pathetic feeling, about which I may write later.

In Mysore, the rest of the team did some sightseeing while I slept at the hotel. With the cold I brought with me not yet shaken, I felt the need to get some additional rest. Hopefully a good night’s sleep tonight will help with that, too.

Thanks to everyone who is praying for us. The whole team senses your prayers and joins me in gratitude.

