Biblical Messages

The Odyssey of Theodicy (or, It’s Okay to Ask God, ‘Why?’)

Theodicy:  not a common word in our language.  What it refers to is the study of the existence of evil and injustice in the world, amid the reality of God’s care and control over the world.  The odyssey of theodicy is the path on which the prophet Habakkuk found himself, living in the later 7th and earlier 6th centuries BC as God’s prophet to the people of Judah and Jerusalem.

The first in a short series of messages on asking God, “Why?”, this message is based on Habakkuk 1.1-11, and can be listened to by clicking the link below.  Just before the message, I showed this helpful introductory video found on YouTube.

My digital voice recorder’s batteries failed while I was preaching this message, so the recording found here is a re-recorded message in the home office.  I appreciate my wife listening and providing the necessary (but entirely too quiet) laugh track!  Listen here.

