Encouragement From The Word

“Talking to God on her behalf”

In small group conversations, confidentiality is key, so I won’t share any revealing details about this situation, but the way it was handled deserves to be highlighted for our edification.  Last night, during one of our LifeConnect Groups, a member was talking about a crisis of which she had been made aware, and that she and another Christian friend had prayed together over the telephone for the individual involved in the crisis.  To me, this is a marvellous example of the body of Christ at work:  no need to wait for a ‘religious professional’ to intercede on your behalf – just pray!

What I especially loved about the way she described the experience, though, was that they had been “talking to Jesus on her behalf.”  I love that turn of phrase!  The really ‘churchy’ word is “interceding”, and the moderately ‘churchy’ word is “praying for”.  But “talking to Jesus on her behalf” just captures the true meaning of prayer for others!

And there’s a witness to be had in situations such as this.  The individual being prayed for, it turns out, had had the potential to sustain a life-altering injury, but ended up with nothing more than a sore neck – a miracle, of a sort, for which two Christian women had been “talking to Jesus on her behalf.”  Isn’t that amazing?  The witness comes when we tell that other person that we believe her miracle came about as a result of “talking to Jesus on her behalf.” That can have an immense impact.

I know that when someone tells me that she or he is praying for me, I express a humble joy and thanksgiving, because I know how much it means when people pray for me – what a difference that can make.  And I find, too, that even people who are not yet Christians generally respond positively to being prayed for.  We sow seeds of faith in others when we tell them that we have been “talking to Jesus on their behalf.”

Every time I think of you, I give thanks to my God.  Whenever I pray, I make my requests for all of you with joy, for you have been my partners in spreading the Good News about Christ form the time you first heard it until now” (Philippians 1.3-5, NLT).

So when you pray for others, don’t hesitate to tell them that you have been “talking to Jesus on their behalf.”  It will encourage believers, and draw others closer to the Lord!

2 thoughts on ““Talking to God on her behalf””

  1. prayer can be the difference between spiritual life or death. Thanks to all who have prayed for me and Dave.

  2. Many years ago when I was a young Christian, I attended a Intervarsity retreat. The focus of the retreat was our walk with God. I remember that one of the workshops I attended was on prayer. At the beginning of the workshop the leader showed us a poster with a picture of hands clasped in prayer. The caption on the poster read “It Still Works”. He then said that the poster was wrong because it isn’t prayer that works, but God who does. I remember at the time thinking to myself that yes, he’s right.

    But now I think that he had missed the point of prayer. Yes, it is true that God does the work and that He knows our requests before we ask, but it pleases God that we come to Him in prayer. Our task is to be always ready to pray. God’s task is to listen and to respond to our prayers.

    Of course one of our tasks is to pray for others, as others pray for us. In this way we are drawn together as a community of believers who are committed to one another in the love of Christ.

Comments are closed.