Encouragement From The Word

An Audience of One

Last night, at our weekly curling match in Nobleton, one of the sweepers on the next sheet turned, pointed to the stands and said to me, “Hey!  For the first time all season, we have spectators!”

“Yep,” said I.  “That’s my wife and my father.”

“Come for a little entertainment?” he asked.

“A good laugh, at least,” I replied.

With my mom in the hospital recovering from a replacement knee replacement (yes, this is number two), my wife and my dad decided to come and watch a little amateur curling.  (Why they did this when they could have sat at home and watched the Brier I’m not yet sure – other than the aforementioned ‘good laugh’!)

This got me thinking:  I’ve never curled for an audience before – at least, not an audience of loved ones.  But because I had an audience, I tried to play better.  I doubt I succeeded, given the final score of the game, but at least I tried, knowing that Diana and Dad were watching.

A lot of people assume that my ‘up front’ work, what people see on Sunday, is done for an audience of whoever shows up in the seats.  And while I’m grateful for each and every person who comes expecting a word from the Lord when they gather for worship, the reality is that I do what I do on Sunday – and every other day of the week, frankly – for an audience of One.

My preaching and worship leadership are done for an audience of One.  My studying and visiting and praying and Facebooking and eating and drinking and model railroading and everything else I do is done for an audience of One.  Knowing that this audience of One is always attentive, always listening, and always cheering me on, I seek to do better as a means of honouring the One who gave me every gift and every ability to do what I do.

This is true for you, too, no matter what you do on a daily basis.  You have an audience of One who is ‘in your corner’ and seeking to bring out the very best in you, for his own honour and glory.

Work willingly at whatever you do, as though you were working for the Lord rather than for people.  Remember that the Lord will give you an inheritance as your reward, and that the Master you are serving is Christ” (Colossians 3.23-24, NLT).

That audience of One loves you and wants his very best for you.  Serve well.

3 thoughts on “An Audience of One”

  1. At times it can be difficult to remember that all we do is for God alone. Thanks for the reminder. Chuck

  2. Thanks, Chuck. This was driven home for me after I posted this when I learned that many pastors are possessed by what it means to be successful. I think if we please our audience of One, we are successful!

    1. I remember what a seminary once told me, that God doesn’t call us to be successful, but to be faithful. I think that that says it all. Chuck

Comments are closed.