Biblical Messages

Margin

The past month has reminded most of us that we live at an unsustainable pace and we choose to call it ‘normal’.  This message begins a new series, entitled, “Margin” (the idea for which was borrowed from LifeChurch.tv).  When we fail to create margin in our lives, we cheat ourselves out of what is often the very best.  The message is based on the story of Mary and Martha in Luke 10.38-42.  You can listen to the message by clicking here.  (Note that while the audio quality is pretty good on this recording, the sound may need to be turned up.  I was a bit hoarse of voice.)

2 thoughts on “Margin”

  1. Another great message, Jeff. I have to work on building margin into my life – particularly in a few areas such as time. I’ve been “time challenged” most of my life. My mother used to joke and say to me “You’ll be late for your own funeral!”. I do try to take time to reflect but find that I have trouble shutting off my mind and its millions if thoughts – so much so that it keeps me awake at night a lot. We do go about our business and lives at a truly frantic rate – there is no normal there just as you’ve said. I’d like to build margin in my life so that I can be more patient and more at peace with myself instead of hurrying off to try and strike as many things off my to do list as possible. I believe I need to re-prioritize and focus on the important things like Mary instead of Martha. Things that need to get done will get done when required. People need to slow down and enjoy life more instead of accomplishing so many things. There us a lot of talk about work/life balance but few things done to make it happen! One of the best times I had was when the power went out a few years ago during The summer for a night – many people complained but I found it to b one of the most peaceful, restful, beautiful amazing nights! Silent, no light pollution, just natural star and moonlight. Just felt like it brought me back to more peaceful, quieter, restful normal times. Please Lord give me patience to accept the things I cannot change, ability to change the things I can and the wisdom to know the difference. I truly believe that everything happens for a reason but sometimes it’s hard to be patient and put your faith in another or the Lord when you don’t know what the outcome will be and if you will be caught when you fall. (as in the current case with my work situation). God Bless.

    1. Thanks, Wendy, for your comments. Margin is a really hard thing to build into one’s life – but as one fellow told me on Sunday after this message, doing so can be a life-saver. It can save our relationships, and other important parts of our lives, too, if we will take the time to carve out time that keeps us from running around at a nutty pace. God’s peace – and pace! – be yours. 🙂

Comments are closed.