Musings

Fining Stupidity

Maybe it’s all the election hoopla, or something, that’s got to me, but every once in a while, a guy’s got to rant.  So I’m going to rant a little bit.

Throughout our brief federal election campaign here in Canada, because of the global economic crisis we’re facing, the politicians are all crying the blues at one level or another.  There’s never enough money to do what they want to do, or what they promise they’ll do, and some of them don’t want to raise taxes, because they all know that’s unpopular. 

So, governments want more money?  I have a solution:  fine stupidity.

If lawmakers could come up with a reasonable definition of “stupidity” – preferably agreeing with mine! – those who enforce the law could bring millions of dollars into municipal, provincial and federal coffers simply by fining people for their random (or planned) acts of stupidity.  I wouldn’t have enough bandwidth to make a comprehensive list of what I might categorize as public acts of stupidity, but here’s a sampling:

  • assuming everyone knows you want to change lanes, so you don’t signal your intent;
  • wearing headgear that limits your peripheral vision when it’s already limited (especially while driving);
  • figuring it’s okay to step into the express checkout at the grocery store with 22 items in a 12-item lane;
  • talking with your hands – to a passenger or on a cell phone – while you drive;
  • etc. etc. etc.

I could go on, but then you’d want to fine me for stupidity, too.

See, we’re all guilty of stupidity; I’ know I’d get pinched with some regularity.  But there are folks out there – at least where I live! – who’d be fined multiple times a day and would have to take out a second mortgage on their homes to pay their fines.

But what do we do?  We smile, and let things roll off.  Because we’re Canadian?  Maybe.  Because we say, “There, but for the grace of God, go I?”  That might be closer to the truth.

Yours for being saved from even the minutest stupidity, by God’s grace…

