Biblical Messages

Christian Environmentalism

I’m not sure I’ve ever preached a message that received such extremes of reaction – visible (and audible) discomfort and noticeable and immediate action.  It’s a message on the stewardship of creation from Psalm 8 in which I suggest, among other things, that recycling and conservation give glory to God.  It’s probably not the first application most of us would think of when reading that Psalm, but give this message a listen and let me know what you think!

whos-in-charge-psalm-8

3 thoughts on “Christian Environmentalism”

  1. Amen, and preach it, brother! I love this message. A similar message kind of revolutionized my life last summer (when I listened to Rob Bell preaching a “God is Green” series. I stopped accepting plastic bags, I bought CFL bulbs for most of the light fixtures in my house, I try my best to always drive the speed limit (therefore upping the efficiency of my car), I mow my grass with a push mower, and this summer I planted my very firt garden (so that I’m eating some food that does not require transportation to get to my table). I try to look for new ways to go green all the time. It’s actually a pretty fun way to live – because every time I refuse a plastic bag or drive the speed limit, I am expressing my love for God and for the earth God created. I’m praising God when I do these things. I never really got why environmentalism was important until I heard that it could deepen my relationship with God.

    I LOVE that you challenged a congregation with this message, Jeff. I think it is exciting and well-preached. God bless you as you head out for B4B!

    Cheers,
    R.

  2. I’ve always recycled & I figured it was mostly due to my ‘Depression-era’ parental upbringing. Waste not, want not. It’s an awesome thought that I am honouring God as I fight for His planet!
    The Recycle Police

  3. Alison, thanks for your response. I’ve never thought of myself as a ‘recycling nazi’, yet I look at the thoughtless waste that could be eradicated through five minutes of dishwashing (just as an example) and realize how simple it is.

    What’s more, here in Toronto, we have new city-issued garbage cans. The only kind that you could get for free is slightly smaller than your average trash can. Anything beyond that every two weeks costs you money. There is incentive to cut down the waste residentially. I wish there was a similar program for commercial use.

    And – MacPhail will appreciate this! – during Bike for Bibles, we stopped in Kingston and the church that fed us supper collected the styrofoam cups and plates we used and ‘blue boxed’ them. I asked if they could in fact recycle their styrofoam, and the response was ‘yes’! Would to God that every municipality could do so.

Comments are closed.