Musings

What happens when you slow down

Don’t tell anybody at work, but today was a slower day.  For a variety of very ethical and helpful reasons, I worked from home today.  (Besides, it was Earth Day, and I reduced my emissions by driving less!)

At the end of one appointment, I stopped at the grocery store to pick up some fixin’s for supper.  As I pulled up to a really great parking space (without even having prayed about it – imagine that!), I saw a senior gentleman standing outside his car, hood raised, booster cables at the ready.  I parked the van and approached him.

“Do you need a boost, sir, or is someone coming to help you?”

The short answer was that a boost would indeed be helpful to him, so I repositioned the van, and got him and his wife (their car, that is) boosted up and on their way.  My good deed for the day, I thought to myself.

Then, once I was home, van parked, another senior gentleman approached me.  He was delivering a prescription for a local pharmacy, and wondered where a particular street was.  I didn’t know, but volunteered to look on my map to help him.  Two good deeds for my day?  This got me thinking there was something unusual going on.

Here’s the deal:  normally, I’m going at a mile a minute.  I see people in need more than just today, but most of the time, I don’t have time to help them.  I just speed past and focus on the task at hand, for which the clock awaits me like a tireless taskmaster.  Not today.  I worked from home, had things spaced out sufficiently to allow for a more relaxed pace.  And look at the opportunities God placed before me.

Jesus said that if do helpful things for others, it’s like doing them for him.  So I was happy to serve my Lord today in ways unexpected.

So why not slow down yourself?  You might be surprised what happens.

